Dundee District Scout Council

What are Scouts?

Scouts are boys and girls aged between 10 and 14 years who want to make friends and develop their widening interests in ways that are both educational and fun - boys and girls who want a break from the usual 'after school' routine of home-work, games and watching television!

The Scout Section is the third of the four Sections which make up The Scout Association in Scotland. Together with the Beaver Scouts, Cub Scouts and Venture Scouts, they make up a Membership of over 45,000 in Scotland. The Scout Association is a multicultural, multi -faith organisation that also caters for young people with special needs.

Scouts meet as a Troop under the guidance of trained adult Leaders, Each Troop consists of several Patrols - small units of six to eight Scouts, one of whom is the Patrol Leader who shares with the adult Leader the responsibility for maintaining the standards and training of their Patrol. The Patrol system gives Scouts the chance to show responsibility and initiative.

What do they wear?

Scouts wear clothing appropriate to the activity being undertaken, with particular attention being given to safety gear. For more formal occasions, Scout uniform consists of a dark green, long sleeved shirt, with a Group scarf and woggle, and long trousers.

What do they do?

Scout activities are about action and involvement and mean more than just camping. Hiking, rock climbing, gliding, sailing, pioneering, canoeing, parascending, abseiling, karting, putting on shows and exhibitions, motor mechanics, electronics, photography - the list is endless!

An important part of Scout training is community involvement. This could be anything from fund raising for other charities to working with those with special needs or taking part in a local conservation scheme.

Scouts are also given the chance to learn skills in survival, cooking and first aid.

There are often opportunities to go abroad as well.

Zodiac Award

The Zodiac Award is a Challenge badge available to Scottish Scouts. Recent changes are designed to make the award more accessible and flexible for Scouts and leaders. The new requirements are:

  • Bronze: Camp one night for 8 months in the calendar year. Three of these camps should be from the list of challenges on the record card.
  • Silver: hold the bronze award and complete 9 more challenges.
  • Gold : hold the silver award and complete a further 10 challenges camps.

The new cards are available from HQ and completed cards should be returned for the badge to be awarded.